Frivolous Waste of Time

Sci-fi, fantasy and video games

Injustice: Gods Among Us: Ultimate Edition for PS4, PS3, PS Vita, Xbox One, Xbox 360 and PC

If it isn’t Smash Bros or Soul Calibur I don’t really do fighting games. I get that they’re probably the best test of raw gaming skill out there, but I don’t really care about that kind of stuff. However, I do like DC Comics and this game was free on PS+, so I made an exception. Well, I did like it, although you still won’t have me rushing out to buy Super Street Fighter IV Turbo Ultimate Special Edition X or whatever it’s called.

Injustice takes place primarily in a parallel universe to the main DC continuity, in a world where Superman and most of the Justice League rule as tyrannical dictators, with a plucky resistance led by Batman. This world took a turn for the worse when Superman was tricked by The Joker into killing Lois Lane and destroying Metropolis, leading to Superman brutally killing The Joker and seizing control. Batman of this universe brings a group of heroes from the main universe to help him fight their doppelgangers and liberate his universe.

The premise is better than the execution and whilst there are some good moments, most characters are drawn in their broadest possible strokes. The only characters that I particularly liked were Green Arrow, Deathstroke and The Flash, with pretty much everyone else being in full brood mode or curiously muted. I wish they hadn’t bothered with the whole two universe thing, making the whole thing feeling a bit low stakes. I’d rather have just had the game take place entirely in one, but I do get that Multiverse shenanigans are part of the DC package. There are some undoubtable cool moments, but Injustice doesn’t really live up to the premise.

I’m only really going to look at the story mode as that’s all I played; I don’t like online multiplayer and I don’t have a second PS4 controller for local, so single player it is for me. There’s loads of stuff though, this seems like a very complete package. From what I’ve been told, Injustice’s mechanics best resemble Mortal Kombat. It’s quite complicated by my standards, but I did eventually master a few combos for each character and managed to make it through the story on normal mode with a moderate challenge. This probably sounds utterly pathetic for fighting game fans right? Look, it’s not my thing, but I actually did enjoy it quite a lot and the different characters felt really distinct to play which is definitely a good thing.

The game looks a bit dated by current gen standards, but overall holds up quite nicely. The environments are cool, but the character designs didn’t really work for me. Wonder Woman in particular looks like she was designed by someone who has never actually seen a woman in real life. The general vibe of the game was a bit grimdark for me; I could have done with a bit more fun, but that’s probably more a reflection of my own personal tastes than of the actual quality of the game.

I don’t have a huge amount to say about this one; if you’re into fighting games and DC you’ll probably love it. If you like DC or fighting games you’ll probably quite like it. If you don’t like either…why are you even here? Go away. I fall firmly into that middle camp.Injustice_hero

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

